Saturday, February 4, 2017

Verifying SWIFT Messages

Introduction

If you are acting as a verifier, then you select messages from the Verification queue and display them. Messages always appear for verification in prompted mode unless the message is too complex. Verifiable fields appear blank. As a verifier, you must complete the blank fields. The data that you enter is compared with the data entered by the message creator as you quit each field. If there are any differences then the field is identified in a different colour.
Note
When there are long lists of MX message instances, you may need to use the Next List icon or PgDn button to view any MT messages, even when the current list does not appear to be full. Searching for messages with the SWIFT format only lists MT messages.

How to verify a message

  1. Run the Message Approval application.
  2. Select Verification from the View menu.
    A list of the messages that are available for verification appears. Urgent priority messages are listed first, followed by normal priority ones. Messages which are "reserved by" other operators, that is, they have them open, are listed but you cannot open them yourself. The list does not include:
    • SWIFT messages with a sending logical terminal, message type, or currency code which your operator profile does not let you authorise
    • Messages which you originally created, verified, or modified (if you do not have permission to "Verify own entered messages" in your operator profile).
    The status bar indicates how many:
    • messages there are in the queue
    • messages from the queue are listed in the window
    • messages are selected.
  3. Alliance supports many operators working on message preparation at the same time. Messages in the Verification queue may already have been verified by another operator since first appearing in the list.
    To refresh the list of messages displayed, select the Refresh Now command from the File menu.
  4. The list shows for each message the identity of the operator who has reserved the message (if applicable).
    If you want to display additional information about a message, then select View from the Message menu and select the appropriate option from the sub-menu.
    View
    Description
    Q Order
    Position of a message within the queue
    Suffix
    Value that helps identify a specific message
    Network
    Network application used to send the message (SWIFT or APPLI)
    Instance Type
    Message instance type, which can be:
    • Original
    • Copy
    • Notification
    Last Modifier
    ID of the last operator who modified the message (if applicable)
    Sender
    The BIC-11 address of the institution sending the message
    If you want your view preferences to be available next time you display the Verification queue, then select Save Current View from the File menu.
  5. Select the messages that you want to verify.
    To verify:
    • a single message, double-click it.
    • several messages, select them and select Open from the Message menu. The first message in the group appears.
    Messages appear in prompted mode (unless they are too complex, in which case they appear in fast mode).
    Fields that do not require verification appear as originally entered, but cannot be changed. Fields (including all related subfields) that require verification are identified in the colour as defined in Preferences, with the field content blanked. The cursor is automatically placed in the first verifiable field.
    Optional fields that were left blank in the original message are no longer shown.
    If a message is too complex, then the message text appears in fast mode, with the values for the verifiable fields replaced by # signs.
    See the release letter delivered with the latest syntax table for a complete list per message type.
    Note
    In fast mode, it is possible to change the text of the message for fields other than those that require verification. Doing so prevents the message from being routed: a pop-up window appears saying that the verification was not performed.
    It is possible, however, to dispose the message to text modification. A pop-up window then appears stating that the verification was not finished.
  6. Enter the required data, that is, the data entered by the message creation operator.
    You must have the same information about amounts, value dates, currencies and so on, as the creator of the message.
  7. Press Enter.
    If the data that you entered:
    • matches the data originally entered, the field, or subfield is verified automatically as you leave it
    • does not match the data originally entered, the field, or subfield fails verification. The field is identified in the error colour to indicate that verification has failed. Close the error message and try to verify the field again.
  8. If you successfully verify all the verifiable fields, then you can route or dispose the message to the next queue, otherwise you can only move the message to the Text Modification queue.
    Command
    Result
    Route
    Routes a message to the Authorisation queue (_MP_authorisation), assuming that the default routing rules for the Verification queue apply. If the default routing rules are changed, then verified messages can be automatically routed to the appropriate input network queue, regardless of the permissions in the operator profile.
    Dispose
    Displays a list of available queues so that you can select a queue to dispose the message to.
    If you have verified the message, then the Authorisation queue (_MP_authorisation) is shown. If you have permission to bypass authorisation for a message, then the input network queue for sending the message is also shown.
    Move to Text
    Modification
    Moves a message to the Text Modification queue.
    If a field fails verification but you entered the correct data, then the original operator must have entered the data incorrectly. As you cannot modify a message while it is in the Verification queue, you must move it to the Text Modification queue so that you can modify it later.
If you selected more than one message, then the next message in the verification list appears automatically.
If you have the Preferences/Warn on Open Next command in the File menu checked, then you can decide to cancel verification. Otherwise, each message selected is automatically presented each time that you route, dispose or move the previous message.
Not all messages contain verifiable fields. To warn you of messages that do not require verification because they contain no verifiable fields, you must select the Preferences/ Warn when no verifiable fields option in the File menu. When this command is enabled, each time a message in the list is presented to you, and it contains no verifiable fields, then the system warns you. You can then route, dispose, or move the message as required.

No comments:

Post a Comment